Author Topic: Calling all Insteon users...  (Read 8169 times)

danielduerr

Calling all Insteon users...
« on: April 25, 2012, 01:43:25 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a new TED 5000 user with a large Insteon home automation system installed in my home.  I'm also an Insteon developer and have a lot of experience troubleshooting PLC issues (i.e. filters, noise sources, etc.).

Prior to installing the TED 5000, I was experiencing excellent Insteon performance (i.e. low Insteon hop counts, 100% ACK rate, fast device responses).  After the installation, I am experiencing a the random flickering on 3 different switches (1 dual band switchlinc dimmer, 1 regular switchlinc dimmer, 1 keypadlinc dimmer).  These 3 switches aside, the rest of my system seems to be performing normally as it had before.

I need to resolve the flicker issue but would really prefer not to have to isolate one system from the other since one of my MTUs is on a sub-panel at the end of a 400' underground conduit run and I don't want to isolate the entire run (i.e. choose Insteon or TED).  I'm very familiar with the usual "isolate it" response which most people have used to resolve this sort of issue but I'm hoping that we can drum up some success stories out there where people did NOT have to do this.  Isolation is impractical and a last resort for me at this point.

If you are an Insteon/TED user who has the two systems co-existing successfully, PLEASE share your experiences here.  Maybe we can help each other better understand how to really solve these issues -- not Band-aid them with filters.

Thanks!
Daniel

DavidCB74

Re: Calling all Insteon users...
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 05:01:51 AM »
Hey Daniel,