Author Topic: 5000C with Solar Panels...will it do what I want?  (Read 4125 times)

ReedV

5000C with Solar Panels...will it do what I want?
« on: July 27, 2011, 05:23:56 AM »
Hi folks--newbie here but I'm an electrical engineer by profession, and recently became an owner of 18 solar panels and a TED5000C.  I haven't been able to make this work yet, but here's what I'm hoping to get from the TED:
-  how much power are the solar panels producing?
-  how much power am I taking from the grid/sending to the grid? (and an indication if I'm taking or giving)
-  how much power is the household using?

Can I do this with the TED5000?  I'm pretty sure I have the MTUs and the CTs connected correctly: I have MTU1 on the input to the power panel, and MTU2 on the connections from the solar panels into the main panel (configuration 'a').  Red dots all face away from the panel.  The part that I don't yet understand, is that no matter if I'm using more than I'm making, or making more than I'm using, MTU1 always seems to give a positive number.  Shouldn't it be positive when I'm taking from the grid, negative when I'm sending power to the grid?  Thanks for your help!

pfletch101

• My home page
Re: 5000C with Solar Panels...will it do what I want?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 05:28:57 PM »
This sounds like a system setup issue. On the System Layout tab in the System Setup Wizard (Edit|System Settings Wizard in Footprints) MTU1 should be set to 'Adj. Load' and MTU2 should be set to 'Generation'. The MTU2 readings should always be negative (even at night, when your inverters will draw a small resting current which will be shown as (spurious) generation - this is discussed elsewhere on this BBS). The MTU 1 readings should range between positive and negative according to whether you are a net user or a net generator of power at any given time.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 05:30:53 PM by pfletch101 »
Peter R. Fletcher