Author Topic: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480  (Read 10491 times)

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« on: March 10, 2011, 11:21:43 AM »
The gateway wireless communication is not updating the display continuously.
The gateway wireless side appears to shut down (does not have a continuous blinking green light) & reboots about every 4 minutes.
It then starts up (solid red-> flashing red /green-> solid green-> flashing green), updates the display & shut down again.
The green light on the side blinks steady every 2 seconds & Footprints updates in real time.
Is this a defective gateway?
What is the solution?
Thank you.

I did receive notice that the ticket was updated, however, the email I received appeared to be garbled.
I responded to the sender to inform them to re-send.
I have had no response yet.

Has anyone else had this problem with the gateway to the display?

What is the solution?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 12:27:01 AM by vanhook2 »
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 09:52:49 AM »
Maybe a little more information will help.

Gateway Version 1.0.406
DaughterBoard Version 1.0.48
Footprints Version 1.0.223
MTU Version 1.0.64
Display Version 90 $
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

marf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2011, 01:26:33 AM »
Had it...

Do a hard reset on the gateway and re-install the firmware in the exact sequence specified on another post.


vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2011, 02:28:07 AM »
Had it...

Do a hard reset on the gateway and re-install the firmware in the exact sequence specified on another post.



Thanks for the reply,
Could you explain what you mean by "Do a hard reset on the gateway".
Thanks
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2011, 11:24:09 AM »
Had it...

Do a hard reset on the gateway and re-install the firmware in the exact sequence specified on another post.



I found out how to do a "HARD RESET" & the "other post" refered to.

Still the same problem.

Here is the information from the Stats Page

« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 12:23:47 AM by vanhook2 »
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2011, 08:58:35 AM »
Bump


Still no change & not a word from Energy, Inc.
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

TEDSupport6

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2011, 10:20:59 AM »
We have an update that should solve the issue. You'll receive it in an email from support.

TEDSupport6

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2011, 10:25:26 AM »
Also, what email client do you use and what browser were you using when you received the garbled message about your ticket? Some other customers are getting that as well and we'd like to narrow down what is causing the problem.

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2011, 10:59:15 AM »
TEDsupport6,

Email received, .bin file D/L'ed & installed, & waiting for 1 hour.

Email client is Hotmail, browser is Mozilla Firefox 3.6.15.

I hope it helps.

I will post an update later.

Thank you
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2011, 05:04:40 AM »
Maybe a little more information will help.

Gateway Version 1.0.406
DaughterBoard Version 1.0.48 <-----
Footprints Version 1.0.223
MTU Version 1.0.64
Display Version 90 $

TEDSupport6,
All appears to be working well.
The daughter board update worked.

Thank you for your time & help.




« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 05:06:56 AM by vanhook2 »
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2011, 10:24:05 AM »
Just a final note on this issue....

The gateway seems cooler to the touch, temperature wise that is.

Thanks again.    ;D ;D ;D
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

vanhook2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2011, 06:39:55 AM »
Is this daughterboard update going to be made available to all of us?  What exactly does it do?

As a general rule of thumb, If your not having problems, don't update the firmware.

If you notice, these Daughter Board updates are sent to people that are having problems.
If you are having problems, I would suggest you open a Support Ticket.
Here is that link:
http://www.theenergydetective.com/support/tickets 
Lead, follow or get out of the way!!!
Do not listen to the Muppets

SherlockOhms

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Sherlock
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2011, 09:12:22 AM »
@ tjnamtiw:   Not typically.  The daughter board is as it's named.  A separate board. Software changes to that board would NOT make any changes to the main  board operation or the MTU.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2011, 11:34:14 AM by TEDSupport6 »

ses4j

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2011, 03:30:13 PM »
We have an update that should solve the issue. You'll receive it in an email from support.

I have exactly the same issue.  The Gateway keeps rebooting itself every few minutes such that the Uptime listed on the /stats.htm page rarely goes above 200 seconds or so.  It stays unreachable for a minute or so, then I can get to it again.  I submitted a ticket (#529).  Please post the daughterboard update here or email.  Thanks!

Scott

ses4j

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gateway to Display Communication Ticket #480
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2011, 03:23:47 PM »
... okay maybe it's not the same issue, I installed the daughterboard update and it's still resetting every 160s give or take a few... :(